Our Latest Reviews

The latest reviews from Google and Tripadvisor can be found here.  Click on the icons on each review to go direct to the review.  All 100% independent reviews.

All Reviews 4.5google logoGoogle 4.5tripadvisor logoTripAdvisor 4.5
Overall Rating
4.5 2125 reviews
We had our wedding at Mulberry House this June and everything was amazing. As the bride I didn't need to worry about anything, the staff were on top of everything.My bridal party were able to stay the night before, which made the wedding day morning more fun as we were all together from the very beginning.Both me and my husband had an amazing day. Our guests told us that our venue was lovely and the best they have been too.
read more
Alexa Avatar
Alexa
13/06/24
We booked our wedding back in April 2023 and from start to finish every single person we spoke with along the way was amazing! We were looked after by Chloe while planning our wedding, nothing was too much trouble and she always went the extra mile for us.Fast forward to our wedding day 01.06.24 and it really was like living in a real life fairytale for the day! Claire my fairy Godmother of the day was just phenomenal!! Claire helped make our day the best day of our lives! You can just tell she genuinely loves her job and making sure the Bride & Groom are well looked after from 8am-Midnight!It was so heartwarming to also hear how much our guests also enjoyed our day and they only had amazing things to say about the staffThank you will never be enough for Claire & the Mulberry House team!We can't wait to come back againMr&Mrs Wallace xxx
read more
Becky Kear Avatar
Becky Kear
13/06/24
We chose Mulberry House for our wedding in May 2024 and it was the best decision we could have made. From the start, communication was excellent, with no question too big or small. The venue itself is stunning, lots of our guests commented on the beautiful grounds and attention to detail from all staff, from gardeners, receptionists, bar staff and coordinators on the day. Jo was a fantastic coordinator and Faz was a breath of fresh air, assisting with all things 'house keeping' the night before the wedding. Our day ran so smoothly, from the Sunday evening, through to the Tuesday morning, small personal touches remembered and the customer service and thought for us, as well as our family and friends was second to none. Thank you Mulberry House for being amazing, we cannot wait to visit again, to add to our forever memories.
read more
Laura Avatar
Laura
12/06/24
Wow where do we start?! From the moment we pulled up to view mulberry house we just knew this is where we were going to get married. The team were incredible from the first interaction and all the way through. Our day went so smooth & if there was a hitch we didn't know about it. The team are fantastic Chloe who has helped with every bit leading up, then claire & Jo who I just cannot fault. The food is just AMAZING. We have some fussy eaters in our family and they said thats the best wedding food they have had! The food truck is the best idea and is so so yummy. I myself as the bride am gluten intolerant and everything was dealt with and i didn't miss out on a thing! The bar staff, security, the chefs everyone was just amazing. Thank you Mulberry house for just making our day an absolute dream!
read more
Abbie Wood Avatar
Abbie Wood
10/06/24
Wow where do we start?!From the moment we pulled up to view mulberry house we just knew this is where we were going to get married. The team were incredible from the first interaction and all the way through. Our day went so smooth & if there was a hitch we didn't know about it. The team are fantastic Chloe who has helped with every bit leading up, then claire & Jo who I just cannot fault. The food is just AMAZING. We have some fussy eaters in our family and they said thats the best wedding food they have had! The food truck is the best idea and is so so yummy. I myself as the bride am gluten intolerant and everything was dealt with and i didn't miss out on a thing!The bar staff, security, the chefs everyone was just amazing. Thank you Mulberry house for just making our day an absolute dream!
read more
Abbie Wood Avatar
Abbie Wood
10/06/24
5 star rating
Our dream wedding Wow where do we start?!

From the moment we pulled up to view mulberry house we just knew this is where we were going to get married. The team were incredible from the first interaction and all the way through. Our day went so smooth & if there was a hitch we didn't know about it. The team are fantastic Chloe who has helped with every bit leading up, then claire & Jo who I just cannot fault. The food is just AMAZING. We have some fussy eaters in our family and they said thats the best wedding food they have had! The food truck is the best idea and is so so yummy. I myself as the bride am gluten intolerant and everything was dealt with and i didn't miss out on a thing!

The bar staff, security, the chefs everyone was just amazing. Thank you Mulberry house for just making our day an absolute dream!
read more
Abbie Tighe Avatar
Abbie Tighe
09/06/24
5 star rating
Top wedding venue We had our sons wedding at Mulberry House yesterday.
The day went like clockwork, the staff were courteous, helpful and no request however big or small was too much trouble. The manager ran through every detail with us to make sure we were completely happy with everything.

They really went the extra mile to make this a perfect start to married life for my son and daughter in law.

The grounds are beautifully kept manicured lawns and flower beds on par with ones I’ve seen at the Chelsea flower show!
The outdoor ceremony was lovely as was the drinks reception .
The wedding breakfast was delicious with so many guests commenting on the quality of the food . All in all a super day and would definitely recommend Mulberry House to anyone considering a wedding venue.
read more
alison c Avatar
alison c
08/06/24
5 star rating
Overnight stay I was working away in Harlow and stumbled across mulberry house as a place to stay. I’m so glad I did, the courtyard rooms were lovely and really high spec and the grounds and old house were beautiful. So much better than the usual soulless chains.
read more
Francesca F Avatar
Francesca F
07/06/24
5 star rating
Fantastic Wedding Venue Wonderful first experience of Mulberry House for my friend’s wedding. Beautiful grounds, super efficient staff and delicious food.

Our bridal party was very well looked after and everything went smoothly on the day. My courtyard room had the best shower & a very comfortable bed.
read more
KC Avatar
KC
04/06/24
Attended my nephew's wedding here on 29th May.Outstanding venue and the staff were superb too.Highly recommended 👌
read more
Peter Drew Avatar
Peter Drew
02/06/24
THE Most Beautiful Venue and VIP treatment from the lovely, helpful Staff for my BTF Niece and Nephew - in-Law :)) s Wedding!. What a Fairytale Day!.. Congrats Jemima n Simon and Thank you for including ME in your Fabulous Day! Thank you to the night security who came out within mins of my calling them as I couldn't work out how to lock my Court yard room door!... Couldnt have been a more special day! C.
read more
Ben Thomas Hicks Avatar
Ben Thomas Hicks
28/05/24
Best man for my best friends wedding, ||Where to start..|1st impressions the grounds are truly beautiful, you can't help but appreciate the effort that goes into it. …
read more
Wanderer57446933134 Avatar
Wanderer57446933134
17/05/24
Beutiful hotel and grounds, Staff are extremely helpful and friendly, I would love to say a special thank you to Angela, for being so kind and generous in providing a top class room after I had a terrible time booking with booking.com, …
read more
Clare P Avatar
Clare P
17/05/24
We got married at Mulberry House in March 2024, and we cannot recommend the venue enough. It was everything we could have wished for and more - value for money, location and quality of service were all 10/10. …
read more
Alexandra C Avatar
Alexandra C
17/05/24
No words will ever be enough to describe how absolutely amazing The Mulberry House Team are. I always wished for a fairytale wedding and all of my dreams came true on my wedding day. …
read more
Rachel S Avatar
Rachel S
17/05/24
5 star rating
The most stunning wedding venue No words will ever be enough to describe how absolutely amazing The Mulberry House Team are. I always wished for a fairytale wedding and all of my dreams came true on my wedding day. THE most stunning venue with THE most wonderful, kind, helpful staff. I knew from the moment I entered the grounds of Mulberry House for the first time that this would be the place I would get married and it was the best decision my husband and I made. The Mulberry House team were there for us every step of the way on our wedding planning journey. You all went above and beyond for both my husband and I and all of our wedding guests on our special day to ensure everything was perfect for us all. By the time our wedding day came around, I honestly felt like I had become a part of the Mulberry House family. You made our dream wedding become a reality and everything was even more amazing than we ever could have imagined. Thank you all from the bottom of my heart for absolutely everything 💖
read more
Rachel S
15/05/24
5 star rating
Beutiful place and beautiful staff Beutiful hotel and grounds, Staff are extremely helpful and friendly, I would love to say a special thank you to Angela, for being so kind and generous in providing a top class room after I had a terrible time booking with booking.com, Angela went above and beyond to provide me with a beautiful room and turned my day around from a bad day to a lovely on, I also didn't know that mulberry house has cottages to rent and it's really quite beutiful here, will defintly be staying again. Thank you again Angela and staff
read more
Clare Harrington
14/05/24
5 star rating
Loved every minute 😊 I took my mum for an afternoon tea for her 60th birthday and it was so lovely everything about the place was amazing! We had a such wonderful lady called Sammy who was our waitress for the afternoon and she was amazing and really welcome me and my mum, couldn’t ask for a better waitress and I would definitely come again 😊
read more
Iolanda S
13/05/24
5 star rating
Perfect Wedding Day Mulberry House is the epitome of luxury, class and the wow factor- but all of this is paired with heart, sincerity, love and a family feel. This venue and the team are truly special. My husband and I have worked on luxury cruise ships for years, so we understand the service industry and how much hard work that goes on behind the scenes to make things look effortless and easy. Claire, Jo, Chloe and the entire Mulberry House team (every single team member we encountered) could not have done more to make us feel special- we felt like A- List Celebrities the entire day and the lead up to the wedding.
The day ran like clockwork it was organised and seamless- but never at any time did it become regimented. I’m an over-thinker and my mind very rarely stops racing but the entire day I felt relaxed, reassured- we just knew everything was taken care of, every small detail Claire and Jo are consummate professionals they had our 100% trust the entire time. The whole team are so genuine, caring and committed. They can’t do enough for you. Something I’ll never forget (and my guests also commented on this) is seeing MH team members working and dancing at the same time during the evening reception. When you see the people who are working so hard to please you being happy, it makes you happy. We know how much effort and hard work goes into pleasing so many guests- so thank you thank you a million times for making this day the best day of our lives!

We had many last minute changes (guests dropping out) the lead up to our wedding- I thought that because we made a few changes literally the day before the wedding, there was a chance that these would’ve been missed off (and if they had been I would’ve been totally understanding because of how short notice it was) - this was nothing for the MH team; everything was as it needed to be- absolutely perfect. This really impressed me because we must’ve had about 5 versions of ‘Complete Table Breakdowns’.!!!!

The food and drink was fantastic - the menu tasting evening was a brilliant night aswell. Compliments to the chef!

I’m so sorry I can’t remember the name of the lovely lady who managed the bar/the evening reception. She was fantastic- so lovely and brilliant!!

The grounds and venue itself is stunning our guests didn’t stop commenting how beautiful and picturesque the venue was. It really was like being in a fairytale. The Tresco suite is gorgeous and so comfortable - we had a relaxing night after an amazing, but long day! The breakfast the next morning was delicious, so much to choose from and we really savoured every last second of being at Mulberry House.

Thank you so much to the entire team. We wish we could do it all over again and again!
read more
Lillie B
13/05/24
5 star rating
If you're looking for a venue, you really cannot go wrong here! Best man for my best friends wedding,

Where to start..
1st impressions the grounds are truly beautiful, you can't help but appreciate the effort that goes into it.

The staff are amazing, every last one of them, they treat eachother like family, this reflects in the service, absolutely professional and so polite.

Our room was lovely, the water pressure phenomenal in the shower!

The food was hands down the best I've ever had, I'm usually skeptical about wedding caterers, but oh my.. this was on par with "nans cooking".

I had a lovely chat with the wedding planning manager (the one who rescues dogs coming to the end of life) & it's nice to know that businesses such as this are actually run by individuals who have big hearts.

I cannot wait to recommend the venue to my sister who is looking to get married next year.

Thank you all very much
read more
Wanderer57446933134
11/05/24
5 star rating
The most incredible Wedding Venue & Accommodation We got married at Mulberry House in March 2024, and we cannot recommend the venue enough. It was everything we could have wished for and more - value for money, location and quality of service were all 10/10.

The main house is absolutely gorgeous, the rooms spacious and elegant and the surrounding grounds and setting was just so beautiful, even in very early Spring! Our family and friends all spoke so highly of the courtyard room accommodation which have all just been renovated.

And then there was the food!!! Seriously amazing, and was a highlight of our time there - especially the morning after breakfast (so delicious) which was included in everyone's stays! We so wish we could have our wedding weekend all over again. If you're thinking of booking this venue for your wedding, or even just for a little getaway stay, do not hesitate, just book!
read more
Alexandra C
10/05/24
Since visiting 2 years ago, we knew this is where we could see ourselves getting married. We have had the best time planning with the different teams at Mulberry House and the outcome was exceptional. …
read more
Tilley C Avatar
Tilley C
07/05/24
5 star rating
The most stunning venue for our beautiful wedding Since visiting 2 years ago, we knew this is where we could see ourselves getting married. We have had the best time planning with the different teams at Mulberry House and the outcome was exceptional. Our wedding day was beyond our belief and was honestly the most amazing day ever!
The experience and day could have not have gone any better. The whole day was flawless and the team were on hand for anything and everything. Highly recommend this stunning venue!
read more
Tilley C
06/05/24
Absolutely enjoyed our afternoon tea on Tuesday. Staff were friendly and helpful and knowledgeable explaining the food etc. And giving us top ups . Grounds was lovely and well kept Will be back soon. Only criticism is the ramp on entry didn't notice it with all the gravel, didn't see a sign. See you again soon
read more
Michael Hall Avatar
Michael Hall
21/04/24
Mulberry House, what can we say? It is the perfect venue with an incredible team of staff! we booked 2+ years ago, and every step of the way in that time the communication has been second to none. We were made to feel special and individual at every interaction. Nothing was too much hassle or too difficult for them to do for us. The day of the wedding was incredible, it flowed perfectly like a well oiled machine, I didn’t feel an ounce of panic or rush, they kept things ticking along beautifully all day! Our guests were so complimentary of everything, the staff, the food, the venue! The way the venue and suppliers worked together made everything seamless! Chloe, Claire, Sammy & Jo to name but a few staff were incredible all day, remembering little details like remembering what I like to drink and how I like it (Pepsi max, ice and no slice!) We cannot recommend Mulberry House enough! I want to do it all again and again!
read more
Shona Smith Avatar
Shona Smith
21/04/24
Room got a 4 just because it was very cold and not sure if the heating worked, however, this could have been due to me not knowing how to use it. My friend got married her over the weekend and we stayed at the venue in the courtyard. Lovely venue and the service from staff was beyond amazing. We dealt with Claire and she is amazing. The staff in general were extremely helpful and always either offering help or happy to remediate any concerns. The food at the wedding was all in house and it was absolutely delicious. The location is Ongar - if you want a quiet place with nice countryside views then this ticks all the boxes.
read more
Nishant Rajinder Avatar
Nishant Rajinder
21/04/24
Had a Royal afternoon tea here this week.. everything was perfect.. in particular our waitress who was so pleasant and attentive.. nothing was too much trouble ..that was Sammy!!! Food was delicious and as we couldn’t finish it all we had cute goodie bags to take the rest home! Coffee was great.. and tea was equally enjoyable! The whole experience was something remember .. and must be repeated!!! PS.. scones were beautiful!!
read more
Judith Bennett Avatar
Judith Bennett
21/04/24
Enjoyed an evening here for an event. Whilst catering for over 80npeople, the salmon was perfect. Food was really tasty, served quickly and was "just enough" not to still wantore and also not to be too full to enjoy the dance floor. Really beautiful surroundings accentuated with lighting. Staff were fast and efficient and it was great to see them sing and dance along to the music whilst cleaning up - I mean you have to enjoy what you're doing right?
read more
Wil Chung Avatar
Wil Chung
21/04/24
5 star rating
Char & Ellis wedding 28.03.24 I don’t know where to start with this review as this venue and the whole MHT are absolutely amazing!

We got married here last week and the whole day was incredible and the team have just made such an impact on how our day went! So many of our guests came up to us saying how Amazing the venue is and how lovely the staff were! They were there at any moment needed without us even realising it!

I remember booking this venue and a big part of the reason was not just because it was everything we were looking for but I instantly felt a sense that the staff really didn’t look at you as another number they really did care about you as an individual and they remembered us if we ever went back for a opening day which made us feel so special!

Even the day we checked out I still felt like They couldn’t do enough to help us. I would highly recommend to anyone who is looking to book their wedding here! Or just a stay, or any other event!

You can really tell that they really look after their staff as everyone is so happy to be working there, nothing was a problem or an effort- they all went that extra mile! Every single member of staff were so happy to help from Chloe helping with the planning, to Claire and Jo on the day making sure everything run smoothly, to the bar staff, the waiters & waitresses, even the reception team so friendly and helpful! The chefs amazing food! Just a 10/10 team!

We can’t wait to visit Mulberry house again with our family and friends for future events!

Massive thank you!
Charlotte & Ellis
Xx
read more
Charlotte J
01/04/24
5 star rating
Where delivering great customer service really matters Can’t wait to go back again Went to mulberry house for High tea beautiful surroundings excellent food great service they could not do enough for you a lovely waitress think her name was WendyWould highly recommend Even the manageress came out and spoke to us Great selection of teas sandwiches cakes and scones freshly made even the jam was homemade
read more
Sue R
01/04/24
5 star rating
1 night stay..same price as prem Inn.. but stylish Courtyard room,very clean,very comfy bed,smart TV,good size bathroom,rain shower,clean towels
breakfast was really good,choice of cereal,or good old full English .beautiful surroundings,friendly staff..no complaints at all
read more
keith p
01/04/24
5 star rating
Fabulous venue Our daughter got married here. Amazing venue with beautiful grounds. The staff are superb and nothing is too much trouble. Highly recommend this venue. The food throughout the day was delicious and we were really pleased with Mulberry house’s recommendations of photographer and videographer. Stayed overnight and the rooms and breakfast was lovely.
read more
Tracie
01/04/24
5 star rating
Perfect wedding venue Came for a family wedding and stayed overnight. The venue is beautiful, house and grounds! The wedding was very well organised and run. Food was delicious. Facilities perfect. Rooms comfortable. If my kids ever get married this venue has set the bar!
read more
Kate Hindley
01/04/24
5 star rating
Our amazing wedding day! When we were looking at wedding venues, we arrived at Mulberry House and felt instantly at home, as we walked round staff were greeting us as if we were friends, we were given a booklet with our names across the top and every question we had was answered.
The communication between Chloe and ourselves was fab, then passing everything over to Jo and Claire! From the minute their working day started with us nothing was too much, they were attentive, made sure we always had a drink, checked in on our guests and made sure everything in the room set up was perfect before we shared it with our families. We particularly enjoyed the moment after the ceremony when we stood with them eating canapés looking over at our guests enjoying themselves. Jo and Claire as I’ve said to you both you’re two in a million and you ensured our day was perfect - we’ll be forever grateful to you both.
All staff at Mulberry House were attentive, kind, friendly and nothing was too much.
Our guests commented on the beautiful venue, grounds, rooms they stayed in and delicious food we had.
We’ll definitely be back for future events.
Lauren and Jim xx
read more
Compass569370
01/04/24
5 star rating
Amazing venue. We attended this venue for our friends wedding and were blown away by the beauty of not only the house but the grounds as well. We stayed in the Sage room and the room itself is stunningly presented. A very lovely hotel and well worth a visit. Would definitely return.
read more
Alistair G
01/04/24
5 star rating
Our Perfect Wedding Day ❤️ Where do we begin to express our gratitude to the Mulberry House Team ❤️

As we drove into Mulberry House we just knew this would be our venue.

Taking it back to our first visit with Georgia showing us the grounds and leaving with a lasting impression.
To Chloe with scheduling every detail and keeping us on track.
To our lovely Claire who is simply out of this world, her attention to detail is next to none she is literally superhuman, we admire your patience and coordination from start to finish. Claire is the definition of first class service ❤️
Not forgetting the best service you will receive from Amy and the bar team who are well organised and proactive.
Sam, David and all the waiters and waitresses who delivered prompt and efficient service.
And compliments to the chef Nick and his team 🤌🏼 the food was INCREDIBLE from the canopies, the three course meal during the day to our evening BBQ and to the breakfast the next morning it was delicious.
Our overnight stay was divine and feedback from our guests bedrooms were all positive.

We cannot wait to come and visit again, we look forward to spending our anniversary at our memorable forever place ❤️

Thank you to each and everyone one of you
Stella & Nicholas ❤️
read more
Stella K
01/04/24
5 star rating
Wedding Venue of the Year! Mulberry House, what can we say? It is the perfect venue with an incredible team of staff!
we booked 2+ years ago, and every step of the way in that time the communication has been second to none. We were made to feel special and individual at every interaction. Nothing was too much hassle or too difficult for them to do for us.
The day of the wedding was incredible, it flowed perfectly like a well oiled machine, I didn’t feel an ounce of panic or rush, they kept things ticking along beautifully all day!
Our guests were so complimentary of everything, the staff, the food, the venue! The way the venue and suppliers worked together made everything seamless! Chloe, Claire, Sammy & Jo to name but a few staff were incredible all day, remembering little details like remembering what I like to drink and how I like it (Pepsi max, ice and no slice!)

We cannot recommend Mulberry House enough! I want to do it all again and again!
read more
Shona and Lee S
01/04/24
5 star rating
Family 40th Celebration went for easter sunday lunch with family for my niece/goddaughters 40th birthday what an amazing day the food was excellent service waiting staff bar staff was top notch
The place is so clean and tidy
Big thank you to Claire for organising the event
Also a big thank you to Sammy Nick and all FoH staff
you cracked it 🐣xxx
read more
Joani C
01/04/24
attended a wedding at this venue and also stayed overnight. As a guest, the site seemed very well organised. I know the bridal group expected to complete a lot of the decoration of the room ourselves, but the venue staff competently used the given props as directed. Each part of the wedding - ceremony, meal and evening dancing - was in different parts of the building and we also seemed to have access to many rooms for hair/makeup, dressing,etc. The MC skilfully guided everyone through each part of the wedding and then provided a good DJ session. The food was perfection and plentiful for the wedding meal, evening buffet and breakfast the next day. Staff were not obtrusive but did magically appear if you needed assistance. I would highly recommend this as wedding venue. Rooms: A particularly comfortable bed - probably the best sleep I have had away from home! Food & drinks: High quality of food overall - but an exceptional breakfast!
read more
Joy McCann Avatar
Joy McCann
21/03/24
5 star rating
A thoroughly enjoyable stay, beautiful house and setting. We stayed in the newly refurbished lavender room. Lovely decor. Very comfortable bed. Luxurious bathroom. Very clean. Clare and the gentleman duty manager were fantastic organising a lift to our restaurant reservation nearby. Delicious breakfast. Good choice. Highly recommend.
read more
nikki n
01/03/24
5 star rating
Great Mother’s Day Afternoon Tea I took my Mum to afternoon tea for Mother’s Day at Mulberry House and we had a wonderful time. The property and gardens are beautiful. The food was delicious, homemade and arrived at our table very quickly. The staff were lovely, very attentive and friendly yet highly professional. I will definitely be looking to visit again. Thanks Mulberry House.
read more
Cheryl C
01/03/24
5 star rating
Epic Meat Feast! Highly recommend!! My husband and I recently visited Mulberry House for their Street Food night with our best friends. It was great from start to finish, with a warm welcome from the Team, so much incredible food (best beef brisket ever!) and fantastic live music and DJ! They also catered for the vegetarian in our group which was very good too. Brilliant Friday night out. We’d go back and definitely recommend if you like your meat! Thanks for a fabulous night!!
read more
Sophie & Tom
01/03/24
5 star rating
Fantastic Night. My fiancé and I attended Mulberry House with our friends for the Street food event!
What a brilliant night! The all you could eat wood was fantastic! The staff were always on hand to top up your plates and you could help yourself to the freshly cooked chicken wings!
The atmosphere was great! Live music and a great bunch of people who got us up dancing!
Fantastic night. Thank you Mulberry House.

Bring on the Wedding!
read more
Ellis G
01/03/24
5 star rating
Afternoon Tea The afternoon tea is simply lovely. The food is delicious (and can be tailored on request), the service is very prompt and friendly and is very reasonably priced. You can sit in either the dining room or the garden room and both settings are beautiful. I would highly recommend and will definitely be returning.
read more
Kathryn L
01/03/24
5 star rating
I love it! Twice in a week!!

Afternoon tea with my family and then the Booze and street food event!

both were absolutely amazing.

Afternoon tea was set in the garden room area, stunning views and beautifully presented goodies! The scones as always were perfection! Wrapped up and kept warm! Love the little touches! The cakes and sandwiches were fantastic, we even got to take the left overs home!

The Street food event was great! Fantastic atmosphere, live music and sooo much food! The meat was all cooked beautifully and all for £20! Fantastic evening!

Both events the staff were amazing. Very attentive and couldn’t do enough for us all. We had a couple of people attending with dietary requirements and nothing was too difficult for them!

We will all definitely be coming back for future specialist events and the renowned afternoon tea!

Thank you Mulberry House!!! X
read more
B4553WWmegan
01/03/24
Mulberry House was our chosen venue for our wedding last weekend, and I have nothing but praise for the incredible team of coordinators, bar staff, hotel staff, and food and beverages teams. Everything about this venue is amazing, our day was perfect because of the tireless work, dedication and support the MH team put in, not the mention the genuine care and passion, which is so evident from everyone working at the venue. We booked our day back in 2022 and the entire planning process had been seamless with Georgia and Chloe, nothing was too much for these ladies and the rest at MH, and they were able to cater for all our needs and requests. The day itself was a dream, and Jo and Claire were in communication with myself and my husband throughout as well as David, along with the staff working on the day, without being intrusive. They went above and beyond to make sure our day ran without a hitch and it was literally perfect, looking after both us and our guests. The venue itself has recently been renovated, and the rooms are so stylish, and modern, yet still carrying the Georgian charm that the venue has. The venue feels like home the minute you step through the doors, and we knew from our first viewing it was the wedding venue for us. I simply cannot thank you all enough for hosting the most special day of our lives, we will treasure it forever, along with all the efforts Jo, Claire, David, Chloe, Georgia and the team went to for us, and for just being incredible, we can’t wait to visit again in the future. Love Mr & Mrs Wyatt x
read more
Lauren Grace Avatar
Lauren Grace
28/02/24
5 star rating
The most amazing wedding venue with a team of incredibly passionate staff - our dream wedding weekend Mulberry House was our chosen venue for our wedding last weekend, and I have nothing but praise for the incredible team of coordinators, bar staff, hotel staff, and food and beverages teams. Everything about this venue is amazing, our day was perfect because of the tireless work, dedication and support the MH team put in, not the mention the genuine care and passion, which is so evident from everyone working at the venue.
We booked our day back in 2022 and the entire planning process had been seamless with Georgia and Chloe, nothing was too much for these ladies and the rest at MH, and they were able to cater for all our needs and requests. The day itself was a dream, and Jo and Claire were in communication with myself and my husband throughout as well as David, along with the staff working on the day, without being intrusive. They went above and beyond to make sure our day ran without a hitch and it was literally perfect, looking after both us and our guests.
The venue itself has recently been renovated, and the rooms are so stylish, and modern, yet still carrying the Georgian charm that the venue has. The venue feels like home the minute you step through the doors, and we knew from our first viewing it was the wedding venue for us. I simply cannot thank you all enough for hosting the most special day of our lives, we will treasure it forever, along with all the efforts Jo, Claire, David, Chloe, Georgia and the team went to for us, and for just being incredible, we can’t wait to visit again in the future. Love Mr & Mrs Wyatt x
read more
Lauren G
01/02/24
5 star rating
Highly Recommended for our Daughter’s Wedding Our daughter’s wedding was held on 17th February at this stunning venue. The wedding was booked a year ago. We visited other local venues, but as soon as we drove in we knew that Mulberry House was the one! We did not have an appointment, but were greeted by David & Claire and made extremely welcome, even though they were busy resetting from the night before.

We have absolutely no complaints about our daughter’s very special day. The bridal suite and the other rooms that were used in the house, were the best that we have ever stayed in, with fabulous views, particularly those facing the ponds and the amazing bridge, which is a wonderful setting for the photos.

We have been overwhelmed by the comments from our guests, particularly about the food, which was delicious, served piping hot and nothing was too much trouble for the very accommodating & friendly staff.

Another plus point was the number of rooms available for our guests, around 23 in total, which we needed as our daughter, who lives in Winchester, is serving in the military & many of her & her husband’s Army friends were based all over the UK. The venue is also dog friendly, another plus, as their dog was able to join us on the day.

We would like to say a very big thank you to all of the staff at Mulberry House & in particular to David, Jo, Chloe & Claire. You are all professionals in what you do & we cannot thank you enough for your contributions to such a memorable & wonderful weekend for our families & friends!!

Mulberry House comes highly recommended. Thank you!
read more
Steve S
01/02/24
5 star rating
A high quality venue I attended a wedding at this venue and also stayed overnight. As a guest, the site seemed very well organised. I know the bridal group expected to complete a lot of the decoration of the room ourselves, but the venue staff competently used the given props as directed. Each part of the wedding - ceremony, meal and evening dancing - was in different parts of the building and we also seemed to have access to many rooms for hair/makeup, dressing,etc. The MC skilfully guided everyone through each part of the wedding and then provided a good DJ session. The food was perfection and plentiful for the wedding meal, evening buffet and breakfast the next day. Staff were not obtrusive but did magically appear if you needed assistance. I would highly recommend this as wedding venue.
read more
499joy
01/02/24
Mulberry house couldn’t have been more perfect for our special day. The venue is beautiful and the staff are amazing! Clare and the team couldn’t do more for us on the lead up to and the day of our wedding. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel so special. The food was amazing, a few of our guests said it was the best wedding food they’d ever had. I honestly had the best day ever and I want to do it all again, I wish I could get married here every year! Thank you Mulberry you really deserve the awards. Love Leanne and Terry 31.12.23
read more
Leanne Morgan Avatar
Leanne Morgan
21/01/24
5 star rating
Great Christmas Party Evening We loved our evening at Mulberry House. We were invited to spend the evening with some friends at this lovely Hotel near to where we live. We have been before for afternoon tea and other events such as their Cinema evenings. Every time we have been at this venue we have had a great time. The venue itself is stunning but what really makes this place special is the staff who are so friendly and helpful, I cant wait to return in 2024 as I am already eyeing up some of their planned events next year. Keep it up Mulberry House as whatever it is you are doing you are getting it spot on.
read more
Jason P
01/01/24
5 star rating
Our Dream Wedding Day The hotel is beautiful & as well as a warm feeling this extends to the wonderful team too. We got married here & half of our guests stayed and loved the hotel. Our wedding day and the lead up to it was amazing and stress free with great communication from the kind caring hardworking staff our day flowed amazingly. The venue is clean,cosy, food delicious, our room was beautiful with the most comfy bed and breakfast was delicious too. We will be returning as a married couple in February to celebrate our first Valentine’s Day. Mulberry House & your amazing team Chloe, George, David #legend, Claire, Jo, Denise & Sammy you have our hearts xx
read more
Kassie L
01/01/24
Amazing venue wonderful staff daughter & son in laws wedding breakfast and evening reception hosted by Mulberry House 2/12/23. Food & service was outstanding. Venue had beautiful Christmas decorations, which added to ambiance of wedding reception. Team led by Clare could not have been more attentive, kind & thoughtful. Many of guests stayed the night extremely comfortable rooms good breakfast in morning.
read more
Julia Bryan Avatar
Julia Bryan
21/12/23
5 star rating
5 Star Christmas We recently stayed the night & attended one of Mulberry House’ Christmas Party Nights and it was absolutely fantastic. The staff were all really friendly, checking on our table through the meal to ensure everything was ok. The food was amazing, all 3 courses were spot on and delicious. The music and atmosphere was great through the meal and we also enjoyed a good dance once the meal was finished to some great all round music which suited the different mix of people in the room. The DJ was very friendly and played our requests. The room was lovely & spacious, amazing decor that compliments the building. A good night sleep was had & and we enjoyed a great breakfast in the morning. We look forward to going back to Mulberry House in the future. Thank You!
read more
Companion626659
01/12/23
5 star rating
Beautiful place with amazing service. Went here for a friends wedding. After great food and dancing our room was welcomed. What a beautiful place with amazing service levels from the most welcoming staff. As a wedding venue you could not ask for more.
read more
Mark W
01/12/23
5 star rating
Fabulous Festive Party Night Had a great evening celebrating with dear friends. Wonderful hotel great food entertainment and staff. Excellent service thank you Mulberry House for a memorable time. Stayed in the main hotel room was very warm and comfy. We will be back 🎄
read more
Kim M
01/12/23
5 star rating
Christmas Party Night Had a great evening with friends and family. Food was amazing, staff were friendly and attentive, DJ was excellent and the atmosphere was top class. Value for money yes. We booked rooms which we could also not fault. We will be back next year.
read more
Mark S
01/12/23
5 star rating
Wedding and overnight stay We enjoyed a wedding at Mulberry and stayed overnight. As part of the wedding party we were so well looked after, and attention to detail was second to none. It’s been a great experience from start to finish and the venue was beautiful. Would highly recommend!
read more
Chloe M
01/12/23
5 star rating
Festive Treat! Love this place! We had our Christmas party here last week and had a great time! From the amazing welcome and exceptional service to the fantastic food and party atmosphere I'd highly recommend! Such a beautiful hotel where the staff simply can't do enough for you, we can't wait to visit again soon, thank you!
read more
Caroline M
01/12/23
5 star rating
Wonderful stay & beautiful venue A very charming stay during the festive season. We received a warm welcome & room upgrade before taking our seats at the ‘party night’. Very comfortable stay & thoughtful touches. The team at Mulberry House went above & beyond, & we look forward to returning. Our group really enjoyed the Party Night - a great atmosphere & tasty festive 3-course meal with a very generous drinks package. Thank you Mulberry House.
read more
PeonyandSage
01/12/23
5 star rating
A Festive Delight at Mulberry House!! Attending one of the Christmas party nights at Mulberry House in Ongar was an unforgettable experience. The event was absolutely amazing, striking the perfect balance between elegance and festive cheer.

The food was a standout highlight. Each dish was a culinary masterpiece, boasting flavours that were simply out of this world. It's clear that the chefs at Mulberry House put exceptional care and creativity into their menus.

Equally impressive was the staff. They were super friendly, making us feel welcomed and valued from the moment we stepped in. Their efficiency and attention to detail ensured that the evening ran smoothly, contributing significantly to the relaxed and joyful atmosphere.

We are eagerly looking forward to our next visit to Mulberry House. It's an absolute gem in Ongar, offering a unique and delightful experience that's not to be missed. Highly recommended for anyone seeking a memorable and luxurious outing.
read more
Sweet Vibe E
01/12/23
5 star rating
Afternoon tea We had afternoon tea bought as a treat for Xmas, I went to the Ritz earlier in the year and this venue far outwayed that. The staff was so friendly we was served by Wendy & Bernice nothing was to much trouble and we felt so comfortable. The sandwiches and pastries was out of thus world, my mum hasn't stopped talking about it. The manager Claire even came to talk to us to make sure all OK. We will certainly be going back and will be trying the dinner next. Ifyou need to take someone for a treat I would highly recommend.
read more
denise92denyer
01/12/23
5 star rating
Quality festive event at Christmas Attended the 'Taste of Mulberry Christmas' with 3-course meal. Lovely venue and decor. Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. High quality service from staff and decent food. Lovely live music including nativity songs
read more
Passenger59679919198
01/12/23
5 star rating
Lunch with Santa From booking this lunch back in the summer to going on the day we could not fault anything at all. Staff so helpful and efficient and the food was outstanding. As a family we had a great time and would thoroughly recommend going to Mulberry House
read more
jackie c
01/12/23
5 star rating
Wonderful Christmas event We enjoyed one of the Christmas nights at Mulberry House, we were a group of around thirty people. I must say the place is set in beautiful surroundings, the Staff very friendly and excellent food. A real bonus was the DJ Louis, he kept people on the dance floor from time he started playing , knowing exactly how to cater for the folk who were there. In addtion he was really friendly and accommodating which of course makes all the difference. My only small concern was , it was clear that the drinks were with the meal, but I did not see the sense of clearing away half bottles of wine later in the evening , after all what are they going to do with them ? this appeared to be for the sake of it , this was not all Staff, so I am not sure what the policy was on this . Apart from this small blip , it really was an excellent night.
read more
Jazzy61
01/12/23
5 star rating
NHS volunteer High Tea We had Royal High Tea at Mulberry House with 62 NHS volunteers in attendance. The food was delicious, the venue looked amazing and all the staff were so attentive. Couldn’t have asked for anything more. Highly recommend. Thank you
read more
Alison L
01/12/23
5 star rating
Lunch With Santa I would like to say a huge thank you to the wonderful Mulberry House team for our lunch with Santa today. Beautiful venue, lovely food, wonderful staff and a magical Father Christmas, Mrs Christmas and the cheeky elf! The children had a fantastic time. Thank you so much!
read more
Lucie F
01/12/23
5 star rating
Really nice place to stay with very good food Christmas party with Family had a really good night and stayed over, cant fault the place. The food was excellent, room excellent staff excellent had a great night what more could you want. We will be going back again .
read more
Raymond S
01/12/23
5 star rating
Wedding venue. Perfect wedding venue. Staff are very attentive and service was excellent. We will be returning.
Food was excellent and the grounds are stunning.
Also beautiful Christmas decorations.
Thank you for making my daughters day so special.
read more
lynnjago
01/11/23
5 star rating
Best Afternoon Tea.....ever! Went for afternoon tea yesterday & it was amazing! We were greeted with smiling faces, the staff could not do enough for us & were very polite, professional & friendly.. We had High tea with a choice of pink or normal prosecco. A friend wanted to change her coffee for mint tea, no problem at all. Requested another portion of salmon sandwiches, again no problem. I had pre-ordered sandwiches for 2 vegetarians & thd chiicd given were delicious!The scones, choice of plain or fruit were light & warm, with jam & delicious clotted cream. The pastries were great size, large varied selection & delicious!
We were also given boxes to take leftovers home.
I would highly recommend Mulberry House as their afternoon tea was the best I have had & the location set in beautiful grounds was idyllic
Thank you for a special afternoon.
read more
smiler58
01/10/23
5 star rating
Amazing wedding day. Claire for prime minister! She is awesome. We had our wedding on 23 October 2023. All of the staff, from the groundsmen to the waitresses, barstaff and event coordinators were outstanding.
Claire and her team ensured everything ran like clockwork. The food was out of this world, even the breakfast. The grounds are beautiful. The honeymoon suite although lovely, is starting to look a little tired but this in no way, spoilt our wonderful day.
Thankyou.
read more
Tony P
01/10/23
5 star rating
Amazing staff they go above and beyond 💖 We stayed here for my friends wedding- Wow the staff!!! they are amazing, nothing was too much trouble, they all went above and beyond & made us feel like family. 💖

We all had the most amazing time the food was beautiful, the Wedding breakfast was stunning, we had lamb shanks, I Will honestly say it was the best one I ever had. We really enjoyed the breakfast, so fresh and lots of choice - breads, Jams from Tiptree just down the road, cereal, juices and cooked options, again nothing is too much trouble.

As a wedding venue this beautiful house was just perfect, the grounds are stunning, lots of wildlife, ducks, swans, birds and lamas, fabulous for the photos. They have a bridge and wishing well, all very romantic 🥰

We stayed two nights and had a room on the top floor. Rooms are very comfortable & nicely decorated. In our room we had water, biscuits, tea & coffee, also some shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom incase you forget. ❤️

Getting ready for the wedding the bride had a floor to herself, this allowed us all to be together, have breakfast, champagne and get ready for the big day.

I would like to thank everyone who work so hard all day long. It was one of the best weddings I have ever been too and the experience & memories will stay with me, can’t wait to go back.
💖💖
read more
Karrie Pops Avatar
Karrie Pops
01/03/23
5 star rating
Our amazing day! Words can’t express how grateful my husband and I are for the incredible Claire & her team at Mulberry house who ensured everything went to plan on our very special day.
We were made to feel so special and there isn’t a single thing that would have made it better. Our friends and family all commented on how well everything was organized and how incredible the food was. Apart from each other, choosing Mulberry house as our wedding venue was the best decision we ever made. So a massive thank you to Claire, Jo, David, Richard and everyone of the team that made our big day more magical that we could have ever imagined. Lots of love Claire & Mathew Walter 09.09.22 xxx
read more
Claire Avatar
Claire
01/09/22
5 star rating
Great value. Cosy friendly place My room was spacious and charming. The hotel has lots of character with beautiful gardens. Tranquil atmosphere. Decent breakfast (included in price) in airy conservatory where I ate my breakfast watching a nuthatch creeping up and down an old tree outside. The staff were really friendly and as I noted in previous reviews offered me an upgrade when I checked in. Great value for such a hotel.
read more
Bernadette014
01/03/20
5 star rating
Absolutely Stunning Venue for Wedding I recently had our Wedding at Mulberry House and wow it was absolutely amazing from start to finish. The event co-ordination and support before and during the day is really incredible. The marquee was set up beautifully for all the vendors that I selected, Claire our events co-ordinator for the day was absolutely incredible. We had the fairy tale wedding that we wanted, from the drinks which were flowing all day and night, all of the food which was amazing hot and delicious down to all the staff behind the bar and back of house - absolutely amazing, attentive and nothing too much trouble. We all had a wonderful time. We had all rooms at Mulberry, yes they are basic but you don't need more than that for one night stay, clean, tidy and comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was also amazing. Our guest cannot stop talking about what a wonderful day we had at Mulberry House. I would recommend Mulberry House to anyone whether it is for an afternoon tea, Sunday lunch or a big event. We have already booked up again for another family event next year and cannot wait!
read more
Carly Lorking
01/02/20
5 star rating
Special occasion lunch I recently organised my graduation lunch at Mulberry House Hotel and it was amazing. The event co-ordination and support beforehand was superb. There were a lot of us in the party so we were given the garden room - which is beautiful and looks on to the grounds and lake, which in November was all autumn colours. The menu choices were really good (a bit too good - it was so hard to decide!) and all of the food arrived promptly and was hot and delicious. We all had a wonderful time, the staff were super attentive and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend Mulberry House to anyone whether it is for a Sunday lunch or a big event. I will be going back soon with my nieces for afternoon tea and cannot wait!
read more
Lisa B
01/01/20